group of happy professionals

Become a Member

Apply to Become a COYAC Member Today!

As a member of COYAC you will have the opportunity to learn about state-level government operations, develop public-speaking and leadership skills, explore issues and policies relevant to you and other youth in Colorado, and formally advise the Colorado State Legislature.

In order to be eligible, you must be between 14 and 19 years old and be enrolled in and attending a Colorado junior high, middle or high school, including an on-line school; participating in a nonpublic, home-based educational program; participating in a general equivalency degree program; or have obtained a high school or general equivalency diploma.

Member Expectations

Members are expected to commit to a two-year term during which time they will have an opportunity to build a relationship with their State senator and representative.

Members are expected to attend four meetings throughout each year of their term. Three of the meetings are held on weekends. The final meeting is held during the weekday to allow for the opportunity to present to Colorado State Legislators at our state’s capitol.

Between meetings, members must participate in online forums and discussions, conference calls, meetings with each other and members of the community. We need full participation in between meetings so business matters can be taken care of by the full COYAC body.

Each COYAC member will serve on a policy committee. Policy committees change every year depending on the interests of the youth currently serving on the Council as well as the priorities of the state legislature. Council members are also expected to gather input from other youth in their districts as they discern a policy interest area.

Open Senate Districts

There are 40 seats (35 from senate districts and 5 at-large) on the Council and every year there are a certain number of open seats available. Each fall new members are chosen to begin their two-year term while other members are entering their second year of service. For the term beginning September 2017, we have openings in the districts listed below (to determine your district, view Find My Legislator and type in your address). However, even if your district isn’t listed below, you can still apply because we also have four At-Large openings this year.

  • District 1
    • Senator Jerry Sonnenberg
      Greeley, Sterling, Yuma
  • District 3
    • Senator Leroy Garcia
  • District 4
    • Senator Jim Smallwood
      Aurora, Castle Rock, Douglas County
  • District 5
    • Senator Kerry Donovan
      Aspen, Leadville, Salida
  • District 7
    • Senator Ray Scott
      Fruita, Grand Junction
  • District 8
    • Senator Randy Baumgartner
      Craig, Glenwood Springs, Rifle, Steamboat Springs
  • District 9
    • Senator Kent Lambert
      Colorado Springs
  • District 10
    • Senator Owen Hill
      Colorado Springs
  • District 13
    • Senator John Cooke
      Brighton, Evans, Fort Lupton, Greeley
  • District 15
    • Senator Kevin Lundberg
      Fort Collins, Loveland
  • District 16
    • Senator Tim Neville
      Black Hawk, Central City, Denver, Golden, Littleton
  • District 17
    • Senator Matt Jones
      Broomfield, Lafayette, Longmont, Louisville
  • District 19
    • Senator Rachael Zenzinger
      Arvada, Westminster, Wheat Ridge
  • District 21
    • Senator Dominick Moreno
      Arvada, Brighton, Commerce City, Federal Heights, Westminster
  • District 22
    • Senator Andy Kerr
      Edgewater, Lakewood, Littleton
  • District 24
    • Senator Beth Martinez Humenik
      Northglenn, Thornton, Westminster
  • District 25
    • Senator Kevin Priola
      Aurora, Brighton, Commerce City, Thornton
  • District 26
    • Senator Daniel Kagan
      Aurora, Centennial, Cherry Hills Village, Englewood, Greenwood Village, Littleton, Sheridan
  • District 27
    • Senator Jack Tate
      Aurora, Centennial
  • District 28
    • Senator Nancy Todd
  • District 30
    • Senator Chris Holbert
      Littleton, Castle Pines, Lone Tree
  • District 32
    • Senator Irene Aguilar
  • District 34
    • Senator Lucia Guzman
  • District 35
    • Senator Larry Crowder
      Cañon City, Central City, Cripple Creek, Florence, Fountain, Idaho Springs, Victor, Woodland Park

Once you have submitted your online application, the COYAC Recruitment and Membership Committee will review your application and then send it out to the entire Council for approval.

The Council begins meeting each year in early fall. All meetings are held in the Denver metro area. Transportation assistance can be provided for those traveling to Denver. Here are the dates for the upcoming term:

group of happy professionals